WJC: Canada Makes Final Cuts, Names Final Roster For Tournament In Edmonton

The journey that started three weeks ago concluded on Friday with the focus now set on capturing the gold medal at the World Juniors in Edmonton. After a month-long Sportchek Selection Camp, Andre Tourigny and Hockey Canada announced their final cuts with the release of nine players.

After making these tough decisions, Tourigny and company now have finalized their roster before heading making the trip to Rogers Place on Sunday morning.

The following nine players were released:


  • Mavrik Bourque: Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
  • Graeme Clarke: Ottawa 67’s (OHL)
  • Gage Goncalves: Everett Silvertips (WHL)
  • Seth Jarvis: Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
  • Jamieson Rees: Sarnia Sting (OHL)
  • Samuel Poulin: Sherbrooke Phoenix (QMJHL)


  • Lukas Cormier: Charlottetown Islanders (QMJHL)
  • Ryan O’Rourke: Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
  • Donovan Sebrango: Kitchener Rangers (OHL)

With the final cuts being made, Canada will bring with them three goaltenders, eight defensemen and 14 forwards to the bubble in Edmonton.

The official roster is as follows:


  • Devon Levi: Northeastern University (NCAA)
  • Taylor Gauthier: Prince George (WHL)
  • Dylan Garand: Kamloops Blazers (WHL)


  • Jamie Drysdale: Erie Otters (OHL)
  • Justin Barron: Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
  • Jordan Spence: Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)
  • Kaiden Guhle: Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
  • Thomas Harley: Mississauga Steelheads (OHL)
  • Bowen Byram: Vancouver Giants (WHL)
  • Kaeden Korczak: Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
  • Braden Schneider: Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)


  • Jack Quinn: Ottawa 67’s (OHL)
  • Quinton Byfield: Sudbury Wolves (OHL)
  • Dylan Holloway: University Of Wisconsin (NCAA)
  • Alex Newhook: Boston College (NCAA)
  • Cole Perfetti: Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
  • Kirby Dach: Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)
  • Connor Zary: Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
  • Jakob Pelletier: Val-d’Or Foreurs (QMJHL)
  • Ryan Suzuki: Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
  • Connor McMichael: London Knights (OHL)
  • Peyton Krebs: Winnipeg ICE (WHL)
  • Dawson Mercer: Chicoutimi Saguenéens (QMJHL)
  • Dylan Cozens: Lethbridge Hurricanes (WHL)
  • Philip Tomasino: Oshawa Generals (OHL)
%d bloggers like this: